NS248: Analysis of Neural and Behavioral Data

Lectures, critical discussions, and problem solving using Matlab, a mathematical and data visualization program. Topics may include: probability, descriptive statistics, binomial and poisson processes, analysis of spike trains, and analysis of dynamic neural and behavioral dats. Problem sets include statistical analysis and simulation of neural and behavioral data. Previous Matlab experience strongly suggested.

Director: Loren Frank

Course materials can be accessed here: https://brain.cin.ucsf.edu/loren/NS248/

September 2016

Thursday, September 8
Time: 6PM-8PM, MH-1406
Topic: Matlab 1
Instructor: Ben Dichter

Tuesday, September 13
Time: 6PM-8PM, MH-1406
Topic: Matlab problemset 1
Instructor: Ben Dichter

Thursday, September 15
Time: 6PM-8PM, MH-1406
Topic: Matlab 2
Instructor: Ben Dichter

Tuesday, September 20
NO CLASS
Neuroscience Retreat

Wednesday, September 21
Time: 6PM-8PM, MH-1406
Topic: Matlab problemset 2
Instructor: Ben Dichter

Thursday, September 22
Time: 10AM-12PM, BH-212
Topic: Lecture 1 - Probability
Instructor: Loren Frank

Tuesday, September 27
Time: 10AM-12PM, BH-212
Topic: Problem set 1
Instructor: Loren Frank

Thursday, September 29
Time: 10AM-12PM, BH-212
Topic: Lecture 2 - Distributions
Instructor: Loren Frank

    October 2016

    Tuesday, October 4
    Time: 10AM-12PM, GH-114
    Topic: Problem set 3
    Instructor: Loren Frank

    Thursday, October 6
    Time: 10AM-12PM, GH-114
    Topic: Lecture 3 - Resampling
    Instructor: Phillip Sabes

    Tuesday, October 11
    Time: 10AM-12PM, GH-114
    Topic: Problem set 3
    Instructor: Phillip Sabes

    Thursday, October 13
    Time: 10AM-12PM, GH-114
    Topic: Lecture 4 - Regression
    Instructor: Loren Frank

    Tuesday, October 18
    Time: 10AM-12PM, GH-114
    Topic: Problem set 4
    Instructor: Loren Frank

    Thursday, October 20
    Time: 10AM-12PM, GH-114
    Topic: Lecture 5
    Instructor: Loren Frank

    Tuesday, October 25
    Time: 10AM-12PM, GH-114
    Topic: Problem set 5
    Instructor: Loren Frank

    Thursday, October 27
    Time: 10AM-12PM, BH-212
    Topic: Lecture 6
    Instructor: Loren Frank

      November 2016

      Tuesday, November 1
      Time: 10AM-12PM, GH-114
      Topic: Problem set 6
      Instructor: Loren Frank

      Thursday, November 3
      Time: 10AM-12PM, BH-212
      Topic: Lecture 7
      Instructor: Loren Frank

      Tuesday, November 8
      Time: 10AM-12PM, GH-114
      Topic: Problem set 7
      Instructor: Loren Frank

      Thursday, November 10
      Time: 10AM-12PM, GH-114
      Topic: Lecture 8
      Instructor: Loren Frank

      Thursday, November 11
      NO CLASS
      Veteran's Day Holiday

      November 15-17
      NO CLASS
      Society for Neuroscience

      Tuesday, November 22
      Time: 10AM-12PM, GH-114
      Topic: Problem set 8
      Instructor: Loren Frank

      Thursday, November 24
      NO CLASS
      Thanksgiving Holiday

      Tuesday, November 29
      Time: 10AM-12PM, GH-114
      Topic: Final Projects 1
      Instructor: Loren Frank

        December 2016

        Thursday, December 1
        Time: 10AM-12PM, GH-114
        Topic: Final Projects 2
        Instructor: Loren Frank