Dorit Ron, PhD

Professor
Neurology
415-502-7620

Signal Transduction, Molecular Neurobiology of Addiction

We use molecular biology, biochemistry and electrophysiology, in parallel with behavioral models, to study how normal signaling processes are altered upon exposure of rodents to alcohol and drugs of abuse, and how these changes lead to the development, maintenance or the prevention of addiction.

Current Projects

  1. Identifying the function of the growth factors BDNF, GDNF and IGF1 in the CNS and in alcohol abuse disorders.
  2. Determining the role of the mTor in aberrant synaptic plasticity induced by drugs of abuse.
  3. Identifying the role of tyrosine kinases and phosphatases in alcohol abuse disorders.
  4. Determining the role of the NMDA receptor in alcohol-mediated plasticity in the dorsal striatum.
  5. Exploring the role of scaffolding proteins in the CNS and in alcohol abuse disorders.
  6. Epigenetic mechanisms and addiction.
  7. Identifying the role of HSP90 in alcohol abuse disorders.

Lab Members

Nadege Morrisot
Postdoctoral Fellow
nadege.morisot@ucsf.edu

Sophie Laguesse
Postdoctoral Fellow
sophie.laguesse@ucsf.edu

Samuel Sakhai
Postdoctoral Fellow
samuel.sakhai@ucsf.edu

Anna Fiorenza
Postdoctoral Fellow
anna.fiorenza@ucsf.edu

Benjamin Dorn
Neuroscience Graduate Student
benjamin.dorn@ucsf.edu

Khanhky Phamluong
Staff Research Associate
khanhky.phamluong@ucsf.edu

Ji Hwan Yu
Technician
jihwan.yu@ucsf.edu

Caitlin Castagnola
Student
caitlin.castagnola@ucsf.edu

Dana Kennedy
Student
dkennedy@mail.sfsu.edu

Lab Website

Publications: