Jonah Chan, PhD

Professor
Neurology
415-514-9818

Neuronal/Glial Interactions that Control Myelination

Neurons and glia share a mutual dependence in establishing a functional relationship that is controlled by the integration of complex molecular signals and pathways. These reciprocal interactions control multiple cellular processes, including survival, proliferation, migration, cell-fate determination, and differentiation. The formation of myelin is an exquisite and dynamic example of cell-cell interaction that involves the myelin-forming cell and the neuron. The myelin sheath is responsible for the rapid propagation of the action potential, which is functionally essential for the long-distance communication in the nervous system. My research interests are to understand these fundamental glial/neuronal interactions and the molecular mechanisms that regulate myelination. More importantly, the implications of my research relate specifically to the identification of new target molecules and signaling pathways in the development of potential therapeutics for demyelinating diseases. Recent findings and technical advances with both PNS and CNS glia provide a rare opportunity to characterize these target molecules and signaling pathways.

Lab Members

Ainhoa Echeverria, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
ainhoa.et@hotmail.com

Sonia Mayoral, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
sonia.mayoral@ucsf.edu

Kae-Jiun Chang, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
kae-jiun.chang@ucsf.edu

Stephanie Redmond, BS
Neuroscience Graduate Student
stephanie.redmond@ucsf.edu

Simon Pan
Neuroscience Graduate Student
simon.pan@ucsf.edu

Lindsay Osso
Neuroscience Graduate Student
lindsay.osso@ucsf.edu

Yun-An A. Shen, MS
Specialist/Lab Manager
yun-an.shen@ucsf.edu

Kelsey Rankin
Junior Specialist
kelsey.rankin@ucsf.edu

Lab Website

Featured Publications: