Matthew State, MD, PhD

Professor
Chair
Psychiatry
415-476-7730

Genetics and genomics of developmental neuropsychiatric disorders

The State lab focuses on gene discovery in childhood neuropsychiatric and neurodevelopmental disorders and then on leveraging these findings to elaborate underlying pathophysiological mechanisms.

The State lab has a long standing interest in the identification of rare mutations contributing to childhood neurodevelopmental and neuropsychiatric disorders including autism, Tourette syndrome, brain malformations and, more recently, childhood onset Schizophrenia. We employ strategies ranging from traditional linkage analysis in unusual, highly informative pedigrees to high-throughput massively parallel sequencing of large cohorts. Our laboratory is also keenly interested in employing these genetic findings as a starting point to illuminate the biology underlying these conditions, with the ultimate goal of identifying novel treatment targets. In this regard, we undertake collaborations with a range of laboratories to investigate the neurobiological and systems biological consequences of the mutations we have identified.

Lab Members

Aaron Besterman, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
aaron.besterman@ucsf.edu

Siavash Fazel Darbandi, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
siavash.fazeldarbandi@ucsf.edu

Vanessa Bal, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
vanessa.husbal@ucsf.edu

Rehab Khalil, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
rehab.khalil@ucsf.edu

Donna Werling, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
donna.werling@ucsf.edu

Juan Arbelaez
Staff Research Associate
juan.arbelaez@ucsf.edu

Charlotte Diges
Lab Manager
charlotte.diges@ucsf.edu

Carolyn Erdman
Staff Research Associate
carolyn.erdman@ucsf.edu

 

Sindy Law
Application Developer
sindy.law@ucsf.edu

Sonia Lopez
Lab Analyst Assistant
sonia.lopez2@ucsf.edu

Jeff Mandel
Bioinformatic Programmer
jeff.mandel@ucsf.edu

Louw Smith
Programmer Analyst
louw.smith@ucsf.edu

Lab Website

Publications: