Commitment to Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

UCSF Neuroscience is committed to fostering an environment of diversity, equity, and inclusiveness in our program.

The UCSF Neuroscience Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) committee is a group of faculty, postdocs, and graduate students working together to achieve the following goals:

  • Develop programs and initiatives to create and foster a diverse, equitable, and inclusive community for the individuals  in our program
  • Represent and amplify the voices of marginalized groups
  • Outreach to underprivileged communities
  • Serve as liaison between NS students and faculty (i.e. listen to the needs and proposals from current students, and engage faculty to advocate for solutions)
  • Serve as a hub for NS DEI activities, including surveying the climate of the NS community
  • Provide transparency around DEI committee activities





BOBA: Brain outreach Bay area
UCSF students and postdocs provide one-on-one mentorship for a SFSU student who is applying to graduate school (neuroscience and other fields). The focus of the program is to help the SFSU student complete their application personal statement by providing feedback including grammar editing, refining the research experience, and providing feedback on the statement as a whole.

The program began in Fall 2021 with over 40 UCSF mentors paired with SFSU students.

Contact Information:
Mercedes Paredes, Victoria Turner, Mark Gergues, Mike Coulter
Email: [email protected]




Current and Former DEI Committee Members:





Corey Harwell
Evan Feinberg
Martin Kampmann
Aimee Kao
Mercedes Paredes
Bill Seeley


Andoni Asencor
Max Collard
Naz Dundar
Joey Floeder
Isabelle Gonzalez Montalvo
Sophie Grutzner
Yang-Sun Hwang
Mariela Rosa Casillas
Yanilka Soto-Muniz
Olive Tambou Nzoutchoum


Yoon Jeung Chang
Michael Coulter
Jenny He
Christine Liu
Xulu Sun


Lisa Gunaydin
Sam Pleasure
Kira Poskanser
Saul Villeda
Noelle L'Etoile


Frances Cho
Mark Gergues
Ellery Jones
Eszter Kish
Max Ladow
Adriana Padilla Roger
Gabriel Mateo Semidey
Victoria Turner
Gina Williams


Manni Adam
Ashanti Matlock

Full roster of UCSF Neuroscience Committees and Members

DEI Committee Working Groups: